Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Rod Gurganus, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionRod GurganusCounty Extension Director (252) 946-0111 (Office) rod_gurganus@ncsu.eduBeaufort County

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Louise Hinsley, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLouise HinsleyExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (252) 946-0111 (Office) louise_hinsley@ncsu.eduBeaufort County

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Gene Fox, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionGene FoxArea Agent, Agriculture - Consumer Horticulture (252) 946-0111 (Office) gene_fox@ncsu.eduBeaufort County

Other

Photo of Sam Bowden, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSam BowdenCounty Extension Support Specialist (252) 946-0111 (Office) sam_bowden@ncsu.eduBeaufort County

Area Specialized Agents

These agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Beaufort County Center, they may not be present in the Beaufort County Center. Please contact the Beaufort County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Candice Christian, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCandice ChristianArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 33 CountiesBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9148 Candice_Christian@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Photo of Erin Eure, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionErin EureArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Fruits & Vegetables Serves 35 CountiesBased out of Gates(252) 357-1400 (Office) erin_eure@ncsu.eduGates County Photo of Steve Gabel, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSteve GabelArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Aquaculture Serves 22 CountiesBased out of Chowan(252) 482-6585 (Office) steve_gabel@ncsu.eduChowan County Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Lynette Johnston, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Lynette JohnstonArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 50 CountiesBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science(919) 515-0303 lynette_johnston@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science Photo of Colby Lambert, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionColby LambertArea Specialized Agent, Forestry Serves 32 CountiesBased out of Harnett(910) 814-6041 colby_lambert@ncsu.eduHarnett County Photo of Danny Lauderdale, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDanny LauderdaleArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Eastern Region Serves 44 CountiesBased out of Wilson(252) 237-0111 (Office) danny_lauderdale@ncsu.eduWilson County Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Photo of Margaret Ross, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMargaret RossArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 33 CountiesBased out of Jones(252) 670-8254 margaret_ross@ncsu.eduJones County Photo of Chip Simmons, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Chip Simmons, IIIArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety Serves 51 CountiesBased out of Horticultural Science(919) 414-5632 odsimmon@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Scott Tilley, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionScott TilleyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Field Crops Serves 24 CountiesBased out of Washington(252) 793-4428 (Office) scott_tilley@ncsu.eduWashington County Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County